How Do I...
Click to Home
Go To Search
Planning Commission
Meetings are held at City Hall and are open to the public. Meeting schedule

The City of Ionia Planning Commission consists of nine members; three ex officio members and six appointed members, all with a vote. The ex officio members are the mayor, one member of the City Council, and one member of the administrative staff as appointed by the mayor.

The six other members are residents of the community who are interested in serving their community and come from varying professional backgrounds. The term of the appointed members is three years.

The responsibilities of the Planning Commission include the following:
  • To make and adopt a comprehensive development plan for the future, physical development of the city
  • To divide the city into zoning districts or “zones” and recommend appropriate regulations for these zones
  • To make recommendations to the City Council, to public officials, and to citizens regarding all matters relating to the planning and development of the city